Guardian of the Valley

I was walking through the hallway of my apartment building
when a smell made me stop in my tracks.
I closed my eyes and breathed in deep.
Suddenly I was back in Israel.
On the Kibbutz
Mishmar HaEmeq.
I was walking with Julia past the group of russians smoking outside the Ulpan office. We were getting tea, laughing, joking, and talking about the men she was dating or sleeping with, or wanted to be dating or sleeping with
I can never remember.
I was walking  back from the Moadoon to the trailer I shared with her and Eva-my best friends.
I was laying in Eva’s bed listening to the John Lennon and Counting Crows songs over and over and over again
Intertwining our legs and gazing at the beautiful contrast
of her deep tanned peruvian skin and my pale translucent skin.
I was walking around Tel-Aviv, talking with champion skaters and a cross continental bike rider

Going to Haifa with Julia and getting tattoos.
Floating in the Dead Sea.
Hiking to the top of Masada
Walking through Tzfat, with all the art and beauty and mysticism.
I was hitchhiking with Eva late at night just for the hell of it, and then for survival.
I was experiencing all the amazing things I did in Israel. All the beauty, history and adventure
Then the smell turned on me
I was in bed crying
I was flirting with a guy I didn’t even like.
He was coming through the window
I was in class, telling him to stop kissing and touching me
I was silently wishing someone-anyone would see how he was treating me and do something.
I was running out of my room to my friend Jeremy, lying about what happened
I was getting drunk with Julia after finding out we weren’t pregnant
I was in bed crying with glass all around me, and the rock that he threw through my window
And then
I was in Jerusalem, the old city. Before the Kotel, with a note in my hand. My eyes searching the wall for an empty spot. I placed the note inside and kissed the wall
“Give me another chance”
2 Responses to “Guardian of the Valley”

  1. whitneymessier Says:

    I love you Anna.

  2. Eve Says:

    This made me want to cry, and I mean that in a good way. It touched me really deeply, both the beauty and the pain. It made me want to cry and give you a big hug and scream at the world and tell you how glad I am that you’re still here. Never stop writing!

Leave a Reply

